Back to all posts

Southern California Golf Association Wins Morse Cup

K.K. Limbhasut broadens gap to four-strokes; Ephrata’s Aaron Whalen low Washingtonian 

PACIFIC COAST GOLF ASSOCIATION (Seattle, Wash.)– For the second straight day, K.K. Limbhasut of Bangkok, Thailand sees his name at the top of the leaderboard at the par-72, 6881 Seattle Golf Club.

Limbhasut went into round two with a narrow lead and picked up right where he left off after day one. Only making a single bogey during round two, Limbhasut has carded rounds of 68-69 to sit alone in first position at 137 (-7). He made four birdies on a day two that featured tough pin positions and warm temperatures at the Arnold Palmer-designed venue.

Sitting alone in second place at -3 is Ephrata’s Aaron Whalen after rounds of 71-70 (141). For most of the day, Whalen held the low score in the clubhouse and has vaulted himself back into the championship.

Making a steady climb up the leaderboard with under-par rounds into ties for third position are Vancouver, British Columbia’s Stuart MacDonald (76-66-142) and Rico Hoey of Rancho Cucamonda, Calif. (71-71-142). MacDonald carded the day’s best round of six-under-par 66, having it as low as eight-under before dropping a couple shots coming into the 18th hole. Also tied third at -2 is Carl Yuan of Lake Mary, Fla. after rounds of 70-72 (142).

A pair of other players made timely maneuvers up the scoresheet with rounds in the 60’s including Will Zalatoris of Plano, Texas (74-69-143) and Ruben Sondjaja of Sydney, Australia (75-69-144). They sit tied for sixth and eleventh, respectively. 

In the team competition taking place amongst the member associations, the team from Southern California Golf Association came out victorious as the Morse Cup champions. Members Hoey, Collin Morikawa of La Canada Flintridge and Nahum Mendoza of San Diego finished nine shots ahead of runner-ups Alberta and Northern California golf associations at a combined four-under-par. The competition takes the best score of two out of three players during the first 36-holes.

Play continues tomorrow with players teeing off at 7:50am. Spectators and media are welcome to attend, free of charge.